Warning: Parameter 2 to qtranxf_postsFilter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/stjamesl/public_html/church/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 288
Governance - St. James Lutheran Church


All organizations need a system of governance to preserve order, define and cast a vision, and provide accountability between the staff and stakeholders. In the LCMS we practice congregational polity, which means that each congregation is self-governed.

Our first responsibility is always to Christ.  It is His church.  At the same time, we believe that Christ empowers a local church to exist through the gathering of the priesthood of believers, what we recognize as the local congregation, the members of which form our Fellowship Assembly.

Fellowship Council

Jason Hockman, Jason Sleezer, Paul Ott, Art Bruegger, Jennifer Larson, Brett Snyder, Pastor Joel Hess

Jason Hockman, President
Jason Sleezer, Vice President
Paul Ott, Board of Elders Chair
Art Bruegger, Secretary
Jennifer Larson, Administration Chair
Brett Snyder, Finance Chair
Rev Joel Hess, Senior Pastor

Sam Woodson, School Board Chair (not pictured above)

Sam Woodson

Sam Woodson

School Board Chair

St. James Lutheran Church

2050 N. Fremont St., Chicago, IL, 60614

Phone: 773-549-1615  I  Fax: 773-326-3645

Send a Message

Pin It on Pinterest